Adb over TCP/IP

One thing I have had problems with my TF101 is that I can’t charge it while connected to the PC via USB – I have to charge it using the mains adapter thingie they provide. This means that I cannot adb into it whilst charging. This is a bit rubbish since I wanted to run scheduled Jenkins jobs to sync files automatically.

With a bit of searching on xda, I found that I can solve the problem by letting adbd listen to TCP/IP port instead of USB.

  1. Gain root-access – because everything requires root-access.
  2. Make sure your device is connected to the WiFi network.
  3. In root-shell, execute the following:
    setprop service.adb.tcp.port 5555
    stop adbd
    start adbd
  4. On your host PC/Mac, connect to the device via:
    adb connect 192.168.11.11:5555
  5. You can now use adb shell, etc, via WiFi

To disable it and return ADB to listening on USB:

setprop service.adb.tcp.port -1
stop adbd
start adbd

If you have USB access already, it is even easier to switch to using WiFi. From a command line on the computer that has the device connected via USB, issue the commands

adb tcpip 5555
adb connect 192.168.11.11:5555

To tell the ADB daemon return to listening over USB

adb usb

One thought on “Adb over TCP/IP

Leave a comment